Fantasy Football- Outsmarting the opponent

So I followed through on my plan and made several trade offers last week, which resulted in three sets of serious negotiations and one deal finalized.

Although it wasn’t the typical blockbuster deal that I enjoy, it did help me to the second highest point total of the week ( I missed the highest total by half a point!).

Two weeks ago, to my dismay, I was able to pick up Antonio Gates off waivers which was huge because up to that point, I was doing the weekly tight end streaming dance which always sucks.

When I saw he was matched up against the week Steelers secondary on Monday night, I started to get real excited.

I had already decided to target Justin Forsett because of his seemingly easy schedule and was pleasantly surprised to see that his owner also had Philip Rivers as his backup quarterback. I had already started toying with the idea of targeting Rivers because he is quietly having a pretty stellar season.

This was shaping up nicely because I had already given up on Latavius Murray and this owner is also a over zealous Raiders fan who is very light on running backs. I offered him Murray and Abdullah who I really no longer want any part of. He quickly declined but hinted about wanting Hillman. I didn’t want to mess around so, I came back with Murray, Hillman and Sammy Watkins ( He had Watkins last year, so I figured he had some allegiance).

He accepted and both players had good weeks for me. I figure both players should be starters for me most weeks and two of the three that I gave up would have rotted away on my bench all year. Now I feel like I’m one or two solid moves away from serious contention.

Now I will try to zero in on one of the many panicking owners who started out hot but have now had two bad weeks in a row.

That’s where I usually find my best deals. We’ll see how it goes but at least I’m having fun again. This is one of the few times during the season when you can try to use brains to beat your opponents rather than just luck.

Until next time, good luck to you all!


Leave a comment